WWE Live in Singapore – July 2nd 2015 – Who’s showing up?

2 more weeks to go until WWE makes it’s first appearance in Singapore in 8 years or so and me being a wrestling fanatic, I can’t wait for it! For whatever odd reason, I didn’t go for the July 2007 show so the last one I saw was the 5th December 2003 show (Brock Lesnar was on that show so he’s already been to Singapore haha). This show will be on 2nd July 2015 as one of three stops for their mini Asia tour along with two shows in Tokyo, Japan. I can’t wait to see the action and see the best sports entertainers in the world live for the second time in a year, my last time seeing WWE live was actually in Sacramento, California for one of their usual weekend live shows. I’m sure it’s going to be a great show and just from being around other wrestling fan during the Dolph Ziggler meet and greet session, the Singapore Indoor Stadium will be rocking in July, I’m sure of it.

I’ve seen myself twice on that video bit, I’m on the WWE Network haha! 😀

Now, who will we get to see in action? But first, who won’t be on it.

WWE usually has two rosters for their weekend live shows, there’s usually two shows in two different places so you won’t see everyone in one show, it just doesn’t work that way. Anyone hoping to see Randy Orton, sorry to give you the bad news but he doesn’t really do house shows anymore. In saying that, he’s going to be in the Australian and Puerto Rico shows! Come on man! By the way, the Australian roster looks really good. It would be nice to see more of the NXT guys on tour but I guess they’ll stick to their own NXT shows for the moment. At least we’ll get two of them here.

Let’s start with the guys and gals that are on the Winnipeg show. The ones that are advertised to be on the show are WWE Champion Seth Rollins, Roman Reigns, WWE Intercontinental Champion Ryback, Bray Wyatt, Dean Ambrose, Big Show, WWE Tag Team Champions Prime Time Players, Natalya, The Miz, Fandango and Stardust. So we can count these guys out unfortunately, there are quite a number of wrestlers on that list that I’d really like to see in action live here instead.

There’s also the guys who were supposed to be on the Singapore/Japan shows but have been injured or were pulled out. Dean Ambrose was advertised for the show initially but as you know now, he’s on the Winnipeg show. Chris Jericho had planned to be on the show but now he can’t make it due to Tough Enough (thanks for ruining my chance to see one of my all time favourite wrestlers!), so he won’t make the Singapore show but he’ll be on the two Japan shows. Daniel Bryan was another who was advertised but he got injured shortly after that news so he’s out. The main event was supposed to be John Cena vs Rusev but Rusev is also injured. Tyson Kidd just recently joined that unfortunately list when he had his serious neck injury so he too won’t make it (big fan of Tyson here so that’s a real shame). Wishing those three a speedy recovery!

Before I end this list, there are a few more I’ve got to include. For those hoping to see Brock Lesnar, haha give up. Let’s be real, Brock Lesnar does not do house shows. Hell, he doesn’t even show up for most of the bloody Raw TV shows! Why would he want to travel all the way to Singapore just for a show? Ok sure, he’ll be in the second Japanese show which is his first “house” show in ages but that’s only because he had planned to go to Japan himself to visit some friends. And since WWE has a show there, why not get paid to beat the crap out of Kofi Kingston? Hideo Itami won’t be in the Singapore show because from what I know, he’ll be heading for Japan first to visit his family. How do I know this? Hehe…my brother met him and he told him about it! Nice to have some inside scoop for once haha!

Ok, now that’s out of the way, who’s going to be on the show itself? Here’s the card (as of right now, June 21 2015):

20150615_Matches_Singapore_cenaowens

United States Champion John Cena vs NXT Champion Kevin Owens

Dolph Ziggler vs King Barrett (or as I like to call him now, Sir Bad News of Barrett)

WWE Divas Champion Nikki Bella vs Paige vs Naomi

Finn Balor vs Neville (Easily match of the night, let’s go Neville!)

Lucha Dragons vs Los Matadores w/ El Torito

Cesaro and Lucha Dragons vs The New Day (Kofi Kingston, Xavier Woods and Big E)

Kane will be on the show too, he was supposed to be in a match with Chris Jericho but that obviously will change.

Why are Lucha Dragons scheduled for two matches? I know the planned Cesaro and Kidd vs New Day match can’t happen now but why have them wrestle twice? Just doesn’t make sense. I mean, WWE have got a lot of guys on their roster, surely they can bring in another tag team or bring a few guys and throw them together for that match. Perhaps the joke team of Mandow and Axel Mania for the laughs? Would be nice if Luke Harper and Eric Rowan could fill those spots but they’re a heel team themselves and I have a feeling they’ll be on the Winnipeg show too. What about two face guys together, Jack Swagger and R-Truth maybe? Ok, that won’t work surely. It would be a shame if Kane’s role becomes that of a “general manager”, he can still go in the ring. I initially thought Cesaro would be the perfect guy to replace Chris Jericho but I guess that won’t happen.

I’ve noticed something, Sheamus isn’t planned for either shows so who knows, maybe he might be a last minute addition? Would be nice, I’m digging his new character. I’d like to see Bo Dallas too, he cracked me up at the Sacramento house show last August, we need these guys for the entertainment bit. Looking at the roster heading for Singapore, the only guy who’s likely to cut a promo will be Barrett and New Day (to cheer the power of positivity to a loud NEW DAY SUCKS chant) there’s gotta be more surely. It’s entertainment too.

The card is alright, could have been a bit better but I can’t complain, it’s not always that WWE shows up in Singapore, I’ll take whatever I can get. I’m more than happy that Neville will be on the show, with Jericho not doing wrestling full time, Neville has become my favourite wrestler in the WWE (and NXT before that) so it’ll be awesome to see that amazing wrestler live in person. And he’s gotta hit his amazing finishing move, the Red Arrow. I will go nuts when I see it, I’m sure of it. They have to let him do it surely.

And I’m sure whatever happens, Cena will probably end up the winner at the end. Kinda weird that he’s been on all three shows I’ve been to (Singapore 2003, Sacramento 2014 and Singapore 2015). I’m sure it’s gonna be a great show, I’ve got row 2 seats for it! $400+ but hey, it’s not always WWE will be here and why not, just an expensive seat for once, see if it’s really worth it and I’m sure it will be. I mean, the seats I got in Sacramento was not bad and it wasn’t the first few rows!

Less than 2 weeks away, I can’t wait!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

