Interesting month of July

Well this month of July has been quite interesting. I’m still on my school break and unlike most of my classmates, I choose not to take up a part-time job because for me, if I were to work, I’d rather do it full time. I can’t do part time no matter what it may be, just can’t see myself doing it. Three big events this month and just more relaxing at home and also visiting parts of Singapore I’ve not been to in a while/not been to ever.

Of the three big events, there was one at the start of July, one at the end of July and the one in the middle was a last minute deal. The first big event was WWE Live in Singapore on July 2. Me being a huge wrestling fan, I had to go and this being my third wrestling event, I went for ringside seats just to see what it was like. $400+ for a Row 2 seat and well, it was sure worth it to be that close to the action.   20150702_194713A lot of wrestling fans here were complaining (on Twitter obviously) about the lack of big names that were on the card but hey, at least they were still making the long trip to Singapore, I won’t complain about it. The card that was advertised was completely different to what happened and it turned out to be a better show than I was expecting. Sure, I was disappointed not to see Chris Jericho join the guys in Singapore due to his Tough Enough duties but I still got to see my favourite wrestler of this new generation, Neville!

Who knows when these guys will be back here or when the next time I’ll get to see them but when it does happen, I won’t be getting ringside tickets haha. Sure it’s nice being that close but it’s a heck lots of money and I’m not working just yet so I’ll get back to the cheap seats next time around. It was my third WWE show live and I have to say, it was the best one yet.

After that it was more of my own little adventures just walking around aimlessly looking at stuff and also trying to find the best deals for a few things I was looking for, two PS4 games, PlayStation Vita and a new iPod. If anyone has a suggestion for a good mp4 player, or whatever the term is now, that is about 4GB (or more), let me know of one!

The next big event was the Barclays Asia Trophy on July 15. It was a friendly football (soccer for you North American peeps) tournament featuring three English football clubs, Arsenal, Stoke City and Everton along with a Singapore XI selection of mostly Singaporean players and a few top foreign players from the S-League. The main reason I decided to check it out was the fact that there were English teams playing live in Singapore, that doesn’t always happen and me being a huge fan of English football, I had to go for it.   20150715_175848Both matches were alright, not the best of matches but it was a friendly after all. It was my 2nd and 3rd football matches I’ve seen live (the first being Real Madrid vs Inter Milan back in California last July). Everton vs Stoke finished 0-0 and the good thing about these friendly tournaments is that if there is a draw, there’s always going to be a penalty shoot-out to decide the match after the 90 minutes are up. It happened with the first game I went to live and it happened again with this one. Everton would win it 5-4, thanks to one save from their awesome goalkeeper, USA’s Tim Howard.

The Arsenal vs Singapore match was always going to be a one sided affair and the stadium was packed with Arsenal fan and me being a Manchester United fan, that wasn’t a nice feeling haha. No surprises that Arsenal ended up winning 4-0, one of their young players got a hat-trick so good on you Chuba Akpom. There was even the Kallang Wave (our version of the Mexican wave, just with a name change) and even a fight involving the Aussie Arsenal fans (those lot were carrying kangaroo blow up dolls or whatever it’s called) and I’m guessing someone who isn’t an Arsenal fan.

Those matches were the semi-finals matches with the final matches taking place a few days later in the weekend. I had other plans as my parents were heading off to Melaka and since I’ve never been there before, I thought I’d follow them. I didn’t reliase Melaka was actually a pretty cool place. If you’re a foodie, that is THE place for you. I was more interested in the sights around the place, especially the Dutch part of the area. Two days was good enough for me to check the place out, I might return there one day.

20150717_153149

A bit more exploring before the end of the month. One of them being the Henderson Waves. I’ve seen pictures of it and thought I’d check that place out for myself. I didn’t know it was a real pain in the arse to get to. The bloody bridge is the tallest in Singapore and I didn’t know it was that high but the pain was more on how to get there. I got tired just walking up the mountain like trails, that was my mistake. Still, the view up there was pretty cool. The rest of the trail was just walking on a suspended like bridge around nature which was not bad. At least now I know how to get there properly haha!

And the last event of the month of July 30 was probably the one was looking forward to the most because it was a first time thing for me. I’ve been to a football match. I’ve been to a WWE event before. But I’ve never been to an actual concert, and I’m not talking about the ones the Singapore Grand Prix usually has. To me, that is an F1 grand prix event, not a concert. I’m there mainly to see some of the best drivers in the world in one of the toughest street circuits around and the concerts are just a bonus, not the main reason for me being there.

So here I was in an actual concert, there just to hear great music and for my first one, I was going to see the living legend, Johnny Marr! I’m a big fan of the guy and he’s had an amazing career, be it with The Smiths, Electronic, Modest Mouse, The Healers, The Cribs or his own solo stuff he’s been doing for the past few years. He’s easily one of my favourite musicians in all of the music industry, with Noel Gallagher and Ian Brown being the other two. So it was a real treat to see Johnny and his band come to Singapore for the first time and rock the house down.

20150730_201249

I thought my seats were really good, I had a clear view of the set until the part when Johnny came out and everyone started running down to the front. I didn’t know what was going on until I saw more people heading to the front and realising what was going on, so I joined in and gave myself a much better view than before. He played a couple of songs from The Smiths and Electronic days and also songs from his first two solo album, The Messenger and Playland. Both albums are really good.

20150730_202323

It was nice to hear great music live for once and I knew all but two songs he played, one of them being a brand new song called Spiral Cities. That song was pretty good as well, can’t wait for it to be recorded. As you can tell, I don’t really follow the artists that everyone likes or is popular, I’m more of a fan of people who can write their own music and play their own stuff. And well, the English rock scene do have some of the best music around.

And I’ll say this, Johnny Marr is probably the best guitarist ever. That is my own opinion. The things he can do with his Fender Jaguar are quite amazing. Him and Noel Gallagher are the reason why I really want to learn how to play a guitar. Good to see that there is still some good music around in this current era when there have been some really awful stuff. Why listen to those crap when you can listen to something good like Johnny Marr’s music.

Listening to good music always puts us in a good mood so find what you like and enjoy it. For me, music from the likes of Noel Gallagher and Johnny Marr is just the best of anything out there. It was an awesome gig, really enjoyed it from start to finish. I hope it won’t be long till Johnny Marr is back in Singapore.

Been a fun month of just enjoying life. Can’t say the same thing will happen in August, I’ll be nervously waiting for my exam results and hopefully it’s good news. Here’s my quote of the day to end this post, saw this while waiting for Johnny Marr’s gig to start:

20150730_185653

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

