Johnny Marr Live in Singapore 2015 – Setlist

The guitar hero himself, a true living legend of the music industry, Johnny Marr was in town this past week to do his first ever concert in Singapore. It was my first time at a proper concert (meaning not the ones by the Singapore Grand Prix, I’m there for the races mainly) and for the first one being a Johnny Marr concert and me being a huge fan of the guy, I could not have asked for anyone better.

It was a real treat to see him live to play not just his solo stuff from his first two solo albums, both of which are great, but also his songs from his time with The Smiths, one of the best bands to come out of Manchester and one of the best ever. Then again, my three favourite bands are Oasis, The Stone Roses and The Smiths, all from Manchester! No surprises there haha, their music are just brilliant. It was a nice mix of the old classics and the new hits and some great covers as well.

20150730_201249

I’ve seen top names in the music world like Maroon 5, Noel Gallagher (my favourite musician of them all) Katy Perry, The Dhol Foundation, Shakira, Chris Daughtry, Ziggly Marley, The Sam Willows and Pet Shop Boys, all of them great artists/groups themselves but apart from Noel Gallagher, none of them really compare to Johnny Marr’s gig, it was just awesome from start to finish. Then again, I’m a fan of his stuff, especially the things he does on his Fender guitars, so I’m a bit biased there but it sure was a top show the whole way.

I really had a lot of fun listening to some of my favourite songs so I’m here to share the set-list from Johnny’s gig for those who didn’t get to go or are interested to know what it was like. And hopefully some of you might like what you may not have heard yet from the genius that is Johnny Marr. Enjoy!

Playland – Johnny Marr – Playland

Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before – The Smiths – Strangeways, Here We Come

Right Thing Right – Johnny Marr – The Messenger

Easy Money – Johnny Marr – Playland

25 Hours – Johnny Marr – Playland

New Town Velocity – Johnny Marr – The Messenger

Panic – The Smiths – Panic EP

Back in the Box – Johnny Marr – Playland

Spiral Cities – Johnny Marr – ??? (Brand new song, not yet recorded)

Generate! Generate! – Johnny Marr – The Messenger

Bigmouth Strikes Again – The Smiths – The Queen is Dead

The Messenger – Johnny Marr – The Messenger

Getting Away With It – Electronic – Electronic

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out – The Smiths – The Queen is Dead

 

 

Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want – The Smiths – William, It Was Really Nothing EP

 

 

Dynamo – Johnny Marr – Playland

I Feel You (Cover) – Depeche Mode – Songs of Faith & Devotion

I Fought the Law (Cover) – The Crickets – In Style With the Crickets

How Soon Is Now? – The Smiths –  William, It Was Really Nothing EP

 

I thought it was pretty cool that he played all three of my favourite songs from The Messenger and also Easy Money and Back in the Box, two of my favourites from Playland. Real shame that he didn’t play my other favourite from that album, Candidate. I thought his new song Spiral Cities sounded really good, can’t wait for it to be recorded and released, hopefully in his third album, whenever that’s coming out.

And of course, he had to end the night with my favourite Smiths song of them all, and one of my favourite songs of all time, the bloody awesome How Soon Is Now! If I was a wrestler, that would be my theme song, it just sounds fantastic. I hope it’s not long that Johnny Marr and his band will be back in Singapore. I’ll be there no matter the price. I never did get to meet the great man himself but I did get a poster with his signature, I might as well get that.

20150730_223053

And yes I’ve gone and made a playlist with all of those songs if anyone is interested:

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

