2015 done, now for 2016

2015 is over and it’s time for a new year. Don’t worry, there won’t be any “new year, new me” nonsense here. I’m still going to do the same damn thing as per usual. Back in the 2000s, most would have been looking forward to 2012 or 2015 mostly. For some weird reason I was always looking forward to 2016. Well I do like random numbers.

2015 was alright. For the most part I was studying, and not doing so well but that’s just the way it goes sometimes. Just need to study even harder this time around. And when I’m not studying, I got to do some fun things and also got on two short trips (one of them being a new country to visit for me). Went to Malaysia for a few days in March mainly to see the F1 Malaysian Grand Prix and in September to Japan for the first time to visit my brother who now lives there and also to watch the F1 Japanese Grand Prix. Yup, got to see three Formula One races this year, so 2015 was pretty good. First time watching back to back F1 races in two weeks too, that was cool.

Alonso vs Kvyat vs Verstappen

Not just Formula One, I got to see four football matches too. Everton vs Stoke City and Singapore XI vs Arsenal for the Barclays Asia Trophy 2015 and then in four days, Singapore vs Japan in a 2018 World Cup Qualifying match and four days later a Liverpool Legends vs Manchester United legends.

All four at the National Stadium so I’m getting used to seeing that place. Not so used to seeing the Indoor Stadium but I did get to go back in there for the WWE Live event in July, my third time watching a live wrestling show and always it was fun. And for once I was sitting near the front row (second row actually), had to pay $400+ but it was worth watching those guys up close for once. Not just sporting events, I also got to see a comedy show and a concert for the first time too. Yup, been spending a bit too much money on these events, haven’t I?

11665406_10153007449771732_5476155114729808197_n

All worth it though. Good fun seeing the incredibly funny Russell Peters live. He was so good most of his material that night came on the spot and from just interacting with the crowd. It was pretty cool to see Johnny Marr live in concert too, that guy is easily of the best guitarist ever. Was awesome hearing a few of my favourite songs live for once. It was nice to see some of my family from USA and Canada visiting us here so I had a reason to visit a few places in Singapore I’ve not been to before.

Universal Studios being the main one and now I’ve been there twice, loved it both times. Best bits are the Transformers ride, the Mummy ride and of course the dual roller coasters. Also got to stay at the Marina Bay Sands Hotel for once, fancy place for sure. The view at the viewing deck at the top of the hotel, or as I call it the boat, is quite awesome. One of the best views in all of Singapore.

Observation Deck of MBS Hotel

It was also nice to catch up with a few of my old friends from primary school days, it’s been too long since I’ve seen some of them and I don’t really have that many friends so it was cool to see each other again. I’ve had my fun this year.

Now to 2016 and well for the first five months I’ll be doing nothing but just studying and hopefully to better this time around. One of the main reasons I’m looking forward to 2016? Well this year one of the biggest races in the world, the Indianapolis 500, will have it’s 100th race. I’ve been following IndyCars since 2005 and after seeing the first Indy 500, I thought that was one of the best events I’ve seen. F1’s Monaco GP is another of the big races but there’s little to no racing in it. Lots of racing in the Indy 500. It became my favourite race after the 2006 race with that famous finish between Sam Hornish and Marco Andretti.

After watching that race, I told myself that in 10 years time, I’ll hopefully be able to attend the Indianapolis 500 race live in person, it being the 100th race that is the one to be at! The 16-year old me always wondered how the 26-year old would turn out 10 years on. “Would I be working by then?”, “How well would I have done in school and if I’m finished with it?”, “Would I be married by then? (HAHA that’s not gonna happen anytime soon)”. Or the biggest one, “Would I still be in Singapore by then?”. Yup, I’m still there. My brother now lives in Tokyo, one of my cousins is studying in London soon and another two moved to Canada many years ago and I am still here. And to think I was the one who had the idea of studying overseas first.

Well fast forward to 2016 and I’m 26 now (turned 26 today in fact) I’m still studying and then won’t be done in maybe 2 or 3 years time. Can’t say I’m doing well in Uni life right now but the fact that I’m in “University” still blows my mind. Who would have thought I would make it there? Not the 16 year old me that’s for sure.

I mean I didn’t really have much to look forward to back then with ITE looming and poly being the likest highest I could reach if I even got there. I’m glad that I made it but so far I’ve just been struggling with school. Nothing in life ever comes easy right? I of all people should know that by now.

There’s still time to change that, I hope. Now to do my best for the exams in May and who knows, maybe I can still make that trip over to Indianapolis in late May. That would be a dream come true. I don’t know what’s in store for 2016 but hopefully it’ll be a good year. All the best to all of you in 2016 and make it a good one!

P.S. To those of you who did, thank you for the birthday wishes. Really appreciate it!

2016 New Year

Happy new year! Have a great year ahead!

Tags: , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

