Back into Pokemon TCG: Evolutions Pre-Release

I’ve been meaning to post this for some while but I kept forgetting to do so. But anyway here it is! This happened near the end of October so I’m a month late with this.

I used to be a huge fan of Pokemon Trading Card Game. I would play and collect the cards back in the day when it first showed up in 1999 up to around 2006-2007 when most people here stopped playing it for some so I followed suit too. I’ve always liked playing TCG games, the main two for me being Pokemon and WWE’s RAW Deal.

After a long while, my brother finally got me back into playing Pokemon TCG a few months ago. I forgot how much fun it was to collect those cards, opening those boosters and hoping to get a rare card and just playing the game itself. It sure helped that Pokemon TCGO was a thing too, playing the online version of the game on my laptop sure helped with my “addiction” of Pokemon TCG. In fact that might be the game I’ve played the most since August.

20160829_132237

So now I’m fully back into Pokemon TCG and looking for anyway to join in the fun and have matches here around Singapore and the first one I found was the pre-release tournament for the latest Pokemon TCG set, Evolutions. One of the main reasons why I wanted to try it was just to see the old base set cards being re-printed in the newest set with the updated stats.

I think I was the 3rd person to sign up to it so you can tell how keen I was to give this a try. After all I never got to play against other players in TCG too so why not? The way the pre-release works is that we get a box containing 1 promo card (either Gyarados, Charizard, Machamp or Mewtwo), 22 aditional cards and 4 booster packs of Evolutions to help us build our decks.

Once we got the signal we had to build a 40-card deck from the cards we got inside our pre-release box and the energy cards provided by the organizers. I was hoping to get the Charizard card and luckily for me I did! It was the one most wanted to get out of their pre-release set at the Battle Bunker, which I now know is a great place to play card games.

I ended up making a fire and psychic deck because of the 22 cards I got from the set. I did pull some good cards from the 4 Evolutions boosters, including Pidgeot EX, a holo Cleafairy and two Brock’s Grit. I didn’t put Charizard in my deck as I only had the 1 Charmander and 1 Charmeleon so I couldn’t risk them. Here’s my deck for my pre-release tourney:

20161031_003118

Not the greatest of decks but still something I could work with. My main attackers would be Nidoking and Pidegot EX, with Arcanine and Mew as the back-ups. It was my first pre-release tourney or any kind of tournament for a Pokemon game of any kind, I was just excited to be a part of it! The way it went was that we’d play 4 matches, and the people with similar records would play against each other.

My first match was also my first “win”. I say that because my opponent never showed up! I was one of the lucky 4 or 6 who got a bye in their first match so I decided to have a friendly match against the guy I was sitting next to during our deck buildings while we waited for Round 2. I was a close match, I did some damage with Arcanine but I got beat by Arcanine too.

The second match was the worst, it was over after 2 turns! I only had Clefairy to go with and since it had just the 40 HP, that wasn’t helpful. It didn’t help to go up against Mewtwo. I made the mistake of trying to put him to sleep with one energy and that meant Mewtwo’s psychic move now would hit me for 40 damage, one hit KO!

14604846_1113081312103540_2810213723926858903_n

The third match went a bit longer but again I got beat by not having a good hand. The fourth and final match was the closest I got to winning. Nidoking was doing early damage for me and I was 1 prize away from winning. I read Pidgeot EX’s Mirror Move wronly and that ended up costing me the win. And yes, I got beat by Nidoking! Not again. Oh well.

So I ended the pre-release tourney with a 1-3 record but realistically, it was a 0-4 record so in my head, I’ve not gotten a competitive win in a Pokemon TCG match so far. I will try to change that sometime soon as I plan on giving a Pokemon Draft Night a try, a format somewhat similar to the pre-release and the shop is near my place so why not?

It turns out that everyone who participated in the pre-release would end up getting 3 additional Evolution booster pack. I got some good pulls out of that too, holo Hitmonchan and Charizard EX! Two EXes in my first 7 Evolutions boosters! Unfortunately, it has stayed that way, the next 14 Evolutions booster’s I’ve opened so far only has gotten me 2 Holo cards (Gyarados and Poliwrath). No luck for me in Evolutions yet but I still like it so much! Those retro cards all look awesome! I want more!

I really did enjoy that pre-release tourney. It was so much fun even though I lost all my matches. It was great to meet and talk to many other players who all had the same interest about Pokemon TCG or just Pokemon in general. Those guys were also helpful on giving tips to build a good deck, what cards I should add to my decks and what other stuff to get. Hopefully this is just the start of something more. I’m just glad I got a nice reminder of how awesome Pokemon Trading Card Game and the Pokemon TCG community really is.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

