PTCG Sun & Moon Pre-Release: Crobat to the Rescue!

Yup I’m back at it again. My second pokemon pre-release tournament but this one was a must go for me, it was the pre-release for the new Sun and Moon base set. New card designs and all the Gen 7 pokemons finally on trading cards so why not go for it and after all, it’s all for fun anyways right?

I made sure I got my name on the list the moment one of the two shops hosting a pre-release here in Singapore announced that registrations was open. The other shop? Well I tried my luck there first but apparently it was already full a day or two Maxsoft announced the whole thing so that was quite disappointing. Not sure how that was even possible but oh well. Back to my old hometown of Bugis and to Battle Bunker for me then.

For this one, I was hoping to get either the Oranguru pack or the Shiinotic pack and luckily for me I got Oranguru. The people around me mostly got Shiinotic and the guy sitting next to me, funnily enough the same guy I sat next to at the Evolutions pre-release, got the Passimian one. Turns out the Oranguru one was what I really wanted as there was an evolution line for Zubats meaning I’ve got a Crobat! Woohoo! That’s one of my favourite pokemons of all time along with Hitmonlee, Charizard/Charmander and Gengar.

We had the four packs inside the pre-release box and I did managed to pull some good ones out of there, namely a foil Vikavolt (one guy was desperately looking around for it but I need Vikavolt too). I also had a Dragonite, Arcanine and Rare Candy reverse holo foils, which looks really cool in the new Sun and Moon set. I did pull one GX card out, Tauros GX, one of the better ones for sure. But before that, the guy opposite me pulled a Gumshoos GX. Not just anyone though, not even a full art but the brand new hyper rare card. It looked amazing!

So once again my deck, like the previous pre-release, had Psychic pokemons in it. Then again my main deck is a Psychic deck so I’m more than happy to use them. This time it was with the Fighting pokemons. But I learnt my lesson from the last pre-release of having a bit too many pokemons so I cut it down to 2 evolution lines, one troll pokemon in case of weakness and the two foils of Oranguru and Tauros GX. Whatever I had pulled, I knew right away I wanted my deck to be mainly about Crobat.

So the strategy for me was simple, get my Zubats evolving quickly with the help of Timer Ball or Nest Ball or Great Ball, have at least a Crobat and a Golbat and make use of their free retreat to increase Crobat’s Suprise Strike. Oranguru would be the back-up in case of any big energy users (and there were some) and also for his ability (a mini Shaymin EX if you will). Hariyama would be used mainly as my staller and the big dog (or bull in this case) Tauros GX would be the ultimate comeback hitter if I were to get it.
The main thing I wanted out of today was well….JUST ONE WIN! The last pre-release,  had a 1-3 record but my win was a bye because my opponent never showed up. I played a friendly game and well, I lost so technically I went 0-4. And the first match didn’t go so well too. I had to take a mulligan 5 times! What a bad start. Nothing went my, I had a hard time dealing with my opponent’s Butterfree and Pinsir combiation. Oranguru came in to knock Butterfree out for my one price but a combo of Cloyster and Prof Kukui killed me. 0-1 already. Dang. That match ended really quick.

I knew I had a potentially good deck, I just needed to get things right and as it turns out, that first match was really the only match I had nothing going for me. My second match was against a guy I had faced the last pre-release so that was cool! Luckily for me he was struggling as he kept getting energy cards while I managed to build up my Crobat, Oranguru and Tauros GX! My big three hitters. So yup Crobat knock my opponent out easily one by one to give me that match. Woohoo, my first win in a “competitive” Pokemon TCG game! End of Round 2, 1-1!

The third match was a really tight game. It could have gone either way. The guy I was playing had just gotten back to Pokemon TCG so I knew how he felt being back at it for the first time so it was nice that I could help someone out this time around.

This was the first match that Tauros GX finally had some action and I was feeling confident about my chances in that match but I messed up a bit having my Makuhita knock out his Pyukumuku. I should have Tauros GX knock it out to get the 6 damage counter from it’s ability which would in turn help two of Tauros’ moves.

My opponent had a Lanturn and a Kangaskhan and I was trying to think ahead and keep the big GX move for Kangaskhan and for the win but as it turned out, my opponent got the “water energy” he needed to increase Lanturn’s move from 60 to 120, in the form of Rainbow energy. One move later and Tauros GX was done. I probably should have done that GX move. End of Round 3, 1-2! That same losing feeling.

The fact that my opponent had Espeon GX out in the first turn already out in my fourth match made me think I was heading for another defeat. Like the previous matches, he got rid of my Rare Candy and Crobat from that irittating bugger of a supporter Illima but for once it worked in my favour, I got the six cards, he got three. I did get my Golbat out and things started happening.

Did I mention how irritating Ilima was? It feels like a new N card but it can either help you or hurt you. Hence why I only played one of him. Twice I had a Rare Candy and Crobat ready to evolve onti my Zubat only to get Ilimaed. At least drawing 3 wasn’t bad for me as I had Oranguru to help with his ability.


I had my double colourless energy and Crobat was ready for action. Golbat was confused but no worries, free re-treat, as was my plan and in came Crobat. 60+60 for switching in that turn and as Espeon GX had weakness to Psychic type,(60+60)x2 = 240 damage! And not to forget, my Crobat had survived Espeon’s GX attack so maybe my opponent’s mistake was putting all 100 damage on Crobat and not trying to kill of Golbat. Kukui came in next to kill the game for me. That was a sweet comeback and so far my best win yet. End of Round 4, 2-2!

Then came the surprise, we were going to have a round 5! Usually it ends at Round 4 but with the turnout, I guess they had to go for it. My opponent had seen me beat his friend previously so he was worried about Tauros GX. And yes I did get him ready along with one Crobat up.

My game winning move was actually using Repel, getting rid of my opponent’s Butterfree and switch with Lanturn and luckily my confused Hariyama did get his big move in to get me my first prize. I retread him (four energies too) but it was worth it as Crobat was ready for action and swiped my opponent’s Butterfree. From there it was easy going, Crobat doing the damage.

So at the end of the fifth and final round, I had a 3-2 record! More wins than losses, I wasn’t expecting that! And I avoided the two really good Pamissian decks so it was a good day for me. Not that I was worried about it, I had Crobat waiting to pounce anyway.

So with 3 wins that meant I would get 3 extra Sun and Moon booster along with 2 that everyone would get for participating in the pre-release. Now for the fun part, everyone opening up their winning packs and some had pullled some top cards. One of the girls managed to pull the hyper rare Lunala GX which looked really cool.

A few minutes later I heard a roar from the other side of the play area, because someone pulled the full art Lille card! No secret rares though. As for me, all I got was an Espeon GX but a full art one so that was pretty cool but for it being the only one from the five packs, a bit of a shame but I can’t really complain.

I had a lot of fun in this pre-release, probably more than I did than the first one I was in. I wasn’t expecting more wins than losses, let alone 3 wins! Everyone was cool and friendly there again, you can’t beat the pokemon community really, some really cool people there. It won’t be my last pre-release for sure. I think I will probably get my first booster box for the Sun and Moon base set, I really like it so far. Those of you who can make it to a pokemon TCG event or a pre-release, go for it! Even for those who may not play it often, it’s a lot of fun. What better way than to take time off from my revision than to have fun and play some cards?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

