Royal Rumble 2017: I can’t wait for the 30th Rumble!

Hey people, guess what? IT’S ROYAL RUMBLE WEEKEND! Woohoo! Yes I’m a huge wrestling fan and yes, the Royal Rumble as always been my favourite wrestling event. And yes, I like the Royal Rumble more than Wrestlemania, the Rumble is way better and more fun for me.

And this year’s Royal Rumble could be the biggest one yet. And before anything let’s start with the venue itself. San Antonio’s Alamodome. Sounds familiar? Yup, it’s the same venue that hosted the 1997 Royal Rumble. Some of you probably don’t know but the 97 Rumble is one of my earliest memories of watching wrestling and back then it was on a tape recorder! I remember being upset that Bret Hart got screwed out that Rumble win by Steve Austin but then became happy when Shawn Michaels won back his WWF Championship. Just for that and the memories of watching it, I’m happy that they’re back in the Alamodome.

The Alamodome isn’t the typical arena WWE usually host their event, it’s a stadium! That’s usually only for Wrestlemania events so that was cool to see them bringing the Rumble to a stadium (back to San Antonio) for the 30th anniversary. Hopefully they’ll have an easier time filling up the crowd then they did 20 years ago.

Before the Rumble event itself, WWE’s feeder series NXT will also have their own mini PPV in San Antonio and those NXT Takeover events have been great so tonight’s event should be the same. Really looking forward to NXT Champion Shinsuke Nakamura vs Bobby Roode, that could be a really good match.

The whole 2017 Royal Rumble PPV actually looks really good, almost all of the matches are looking great, it’s got a bit of a Wrestlemania feel to it. Then again PPVs in January has always been good. Don’t believe me? Just watch New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Jan 4 annual PPV show Wrestle Kingdom. WWE will have a tough time top what they did but this might be their best shot for the whole year.

Sasha Banks vs. Nia Jax

Remember I said almost all of the matches on this PPV looks great? Yeah this is that one exemption. I don’t know why but I’m just not into it. Nia has been beating up poor ol Sasha and surely she’ll come into this match less than a 100% but I can already seeing Sasha finding a way to end up winning. I’ll be surprised if Jax actually wins this.

WWE Raw Tag Team Champions Cesaro and Sheamus (c) vs. Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson

I’m digging the whole Sheasaro tag team at the moment, it’s just funny seeing how they can gel into a great tag team but still can’t stand one another. Gallows and Anderson on the other hand is a proper tag team, they’ve kicked ass over in NJPW and hopefully it’s finally their time to win the tag titles in WWE.

 

P.S. Sheamus and Cesaro are in the Rumble and my prediction is that one will eliminate the other. Just wait for it. 😛

Becky Lynch, Nikki Bella, and Naomi vs. WWE SmackDown Women’s Champion Alexa Bliss, Mickie James, and Natalya

I’m looking forward to this match mainly to see Mickie James properly back in a WWE ring (yes she was on the last NXT Takeover in Toronto). And well, they’ve got Alexa, Mickie and Natalya in one team, that’s three of my favourite ladies in wrestling (still waiting for Emma to return, or is it Emmalina now) so I don’t need to say more. They must win!

WWE Cruiserweight Champion Rich Swann (c) vs. Neville

This could be the show-stealer right here. Anyone that knows me knows how big of a fan I am of Neville, not just because he’s from Newcastle but also because he’s one of the best wrestlers I’ve seen in the ring. Rich Swann has made a fan out of me too with what he’s done on NXT, CWC and now on RAW and 205 Live. So these two guys, if given the time, can tear the house down. And of course, hopefully the new evil Neville gets his long overdue first WWE championship title reign.

neville-arrow1-e1427766934572

WWE Raw Women’s Champion Charlotte Flair (c) vs. Bayley

This is another one that could be great. We know how good Bayley can be with the right opponent and well, Charlotte has really turned my opinion about her completely, I wasn’t a fan initially but I am now. She might be one of the best female wrestlers I’ve seen in the ring. Then again it’s in her DNA right?

WWE Universal Champion Kevin Owens (c) vs. Roman Reigns

I know this match will be good but I’m not really looking forward to it. For one Chris Jericho will be locked in a cage which is not right (I’m a Jericoholic btw) and second….well I’m not looking forward to seeing another Roman Reigns title reign (no pun intended). It feels like he’ll take it but for me it should be Kevin Owens. WWE just hasn’t used him right this whole time. The other reason why I really want Owens to win….well I’ll keep that for later.

jericho-owens

WWE Champion AJ Styles (c) vs. John Cena

Do I even need to say what I want to see in this match? I’ve always been a huge fan of AJ Styles, going back to his TNA days, and he has to win this one. Yes, I know the chance of John Cena tying Ric Flair’s record of 16 world titles is there but that can wait. I mean who’s had a better 2016 than AJ Styles? Surely he has to feature prominently in this year’s Wrestlemania with how he’s been the best thing going in WWE today. We already know this will be a great match, hopefully they can one up their great match from Summerslam.

Maybe it’s just me but I still like the old tradition of having the best guys of the year headlining the big events and not some old part-timer or some guy who isn’t that good but because has the “size” or the “look” that WWE think they can make his a mega star. Please, for once give the truly great wrestlers like Styles or Owens that chance to headline the main event and show what they can do at the biggest stage in wrestling. If you want a counter to Okada-Omega from Wrestle Kingdom 11, get the best wrestlers possibly and WWE already have one in Styles. Don’t mess this up like they did with a certain CM Punk.

Oh yeah and they can’t use this rubbish excuse that Styles is not a big enough star. Who has been getting the loudest reactions week in and week out (not counting Reigns). Who has had the crowd chanting for him even though he’s a heel. Yup, AJ Styles. And now for the main event.

aj-styles-win-john-cena-summerslam-e1472070127426

30-man Royal Rumble match

My favourite match in all of WWE, the 30-man over the top rope battle royal known as the Royal Rumble. We’ve always had great action, big returns, surprise entrants, amazing spots (aka the amazing ways Kofi Kingston will save himself from elimination spot), near eliminations and sometimes a mini dream match happening that we’d usually wouldn’t see. And with Raw and SmackDown now a separate brand, we’ll get to see guys in the ring that we’d normally wouldn’t see.

This year’s Rumble match might have one of the biggest rosters going in. I mean let’s just roll out some of the names. Chris Jericho, Dean Ambrose, The Undertaker, Brock Lesnar, Goldberg, The New Day, The Miz, Dolph Ziggler, Sami Zayn, Cesaro, Sheamus, Rusev, Bray Wyatt, Luke Harper and Randy Orton and that’s more than half the field already! Yes I missed out Baron Corbin and Braun Strowman, some might say two big favourites but I’m not a fan of big guys. I’m a proper wrestling fan, give me the proper wrestlers like Cesaro, Zayn, Jericho any day over those two.


It’s a damn shame Seth Rollins won’t be in the Royal Rumble match. Blame Triple H for that.

At the moment there’s already 22 names entered and let’s not forget there will be some surprise entrants. I have a feeling we might see at least 2 guys from NXT, that being Samoa Joe and maybe Tye Dillinger (imagine if he came out as entrant number 10). I hope we’ll get one or two guys from the 205 Live crew as well to give them a chance against the big boys. And hey it would be a nice surprise if WWE could bring a few guys from the UK championship tournament for the Rumble. I’d like to see Pete Dunne, Trent Seven and the UK Champion Tyler Bate have a go against the main roster guys too. And yes the surprise returns? Maybe Kurt Angle? Maybe Finn Balor? Maybe Eugene? (I’ve heard some funny rumours, let’s go with it.)

So of those 30 guys, who is going to win the big match and earn a title match at WrestleMania 33? Personally I want to see Chris Jericho win it. I mean he’s been on fire since he turned heel last year and has had some of his best moments in WWE this past year. Ok sure his in ring skills is not as good as it once was but it’s still better than 75% of the whole damn roster! And who’s better on the mic than Jericho right now? And if we’re going to have the best friends turn on each other, why not for the Universal title and at the biggest show on the main event? I’m sure that’s one of the big matches the proper wrestling fans want to see happen.

If not Jericho, who else? And I’m not saying Strowman because he’s not ready for a big match at Mania and for f’ing sakes, I don’t want to see that idiot Reigns in yet another WrestleMania main event. He’s already blown his previous chances, give it to someone more deserving. Perhaps a returning Finn Balor to re-claim the title he never lost. What about Randy Orton? He’s not been in the top spot for some while and he’s been playing second fiddle to Bray Wyatt for the last few months. Surely he’ll turn on him soon and maybe we’ll get a Orton vs Wyatt match at Mania? I’d be cool with that.

For the longest time The Undertaker was the clear favourite to win to set-up the match with John Cena but apparently that’s not happening. But why not make the real dream match, The Undertaker vs AJ Styles. The Phenom vs The Phenomenal One. Come on WWE, do it. Imagine if Samoa Joe were to win it on his WWE debut, now that’d be a huge story.

Whatever happens tomorrow night, whoever does fill up the 30-man roster and whoever the last man standing might be, I cannot wait for the 2017 Royal Rumble. I have a feeling it’s going to be a great one. I wish I was there in San Antonio for it! Happy Chinese new year to all my friends here at home and to my wrestling friends around the world, enjoy Royal Rumble weekend! Almost time for our annual 10 second countdowns! LET’S GET READY TO RUMMBBLLLEEEE!

642full-royal-rumble-match-royal-rumble-2016

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

