PTCG first proper tournament: Gengar stars in the Creep Show

Back to some Pokemon trading card game fun and for once there is an event I can actually go to and not the usual pre-release events. This one was a mini tournament, which was supposed to be 16 guys in a knockout style battle but we ended up with a 12 player tournament with a swiss round style tournament. At least I can play more games haha.

Big thanks to the friendly folks who set this tournament up at Brewlings in Serangoon Gardens (not been there in ages). Nice play they got there, good place for a drink I suppose. It was good seeing some familar faces again there and some new ones, and all there for the fun of playing Pokemon trading card games. What’s better than that (apart from many other options of course)? Prizes were the new Sun & Moon blisters, but only the top 3 gets it.

I wasn’t feeling too confident going into this. I knew I was going to play my Gengar deck but I wasn’t sure if I’ll get murdered by those guys with the EX decks. My deck is a bit slow to build up but when it gets going, it really goes. I didn’t really have the top trainer cards that everyone else seemed to have too so I thought I might end up being the jobber of the tournament (aka make everyone else look good). Here’s how my deck looked.

So the plan is simple, get either Mewtwo EX, Trevenant Break or even Haunter itself (with it’s ability to do double confusion) to get the 3 damage counters to anyone and everyone (in Trevenant’s case) and then have Gengar come in for the kill with the awesome Creep Show move. 3 damage counter on the opponent and it’s a straight knock out, doesn’t matter if it’s a normal pokemon or a Mega EX pokemon. Lugia was a last minute addition (funnily enough in place for a Lugia EX I thought of using) because my feeling was I’d run into many EX opponents and as it turns out, that was the case. Four rounds and I was just hoping I can sneak one win out of it.

Round 1: vs Flareon EX/Houndoom EX

So my first match was against a kid so yeah…..I had to control my swearing (it just happens, I can’t help it). We started off with a Houndoom EX vs Phantump. Yup I wasn’t feeling good about it. It was only when I had Haunter that I had some hope. The earlier poision from Gastly had Houndoom up to 3 damage and then….here comes Gengar via a rare candy! Creep Show city and two prizes for me, back to 4-4. And then I got murdered by Flareon EX. I tried a Haunter double confusion but my opponent rolled a heads and bye bye Haunter. I tried to make a late comeback with Mewtwo EX but he got Lysandre-ed. 0-1

Round 2: vs Mega Gardevoir EX

My next opponent was a familiar face, I’d seen him in pre-release and at Project EXT before. I thought I might have a real hard time especially since Gardevoir EX’s move powers up if both pokemon had the same energy and my Trevenant would have to have the same energy so I went for a back up plan. I used Teammates to get Lugia and a DCE. I had to go for it and set it up as my opponent only had EX pokemons and Lugia’s move goes from 60 to 120 against them. Lugia did some big damage those those EXes so my late inclusion of it paid off nicely in this match. My opponent having troubles getting energy was a big help.

Another Gardevoir would be switched over but now I had a Haunter ready for the double confusion and this time the dice rolled in my favour, my opponent hit tails, 30 for self confusion, energy retrieval, get Haunter up to 2 psychic energies and evolve it to Gengar for the Creep Show!  At this point, my opponent had another Gardevoir who had about 80 damages on it and luckily I had Lysandre in my hand so then came a second Creep Show for another two more prizes. A win for me! I really was no expecting that and against a Gardevoir deck which is really strong. The match just went my way thankfully. 1-1

Round 3: vs Volcanion EX

I really wasn’t looking forward to this match. I knew this would be the deck to beat of all the decks and it should be straightforward, another loss to me against someone who was undefeated so far. I tried every trick in my book. Gastly poison, opponent uses float stone. Lysandre another Volcanion out and use Haunter’s double confusion and again my opponent had a float stone waiting. At one point he was running out of energies which gave me a small hope but of course he got one back and killed the game off. I was a bit surprised that I managed to last as long as I did in that match, was a pretty good game against a near unbeatable deck. 1-2

Round 4: vs Zygarde EX

And I got from facing the joint #1 ranked player to the other #1 ranked player. I had seen his match the previous round and his Zygarde deck looked really dangerous. Good thing that my deck is all (except Mewtwo) resistant to fighting type so some glimmer of hope. Gastly got the first Zygarde poisoned but it got knocked out. A nicely timed Teammates got me Haunter so the second Gastly evolved for the double confusion. A quick switch to Mewtwo kept me going before Gengar showed up. I went for a big risk with Sycamore and it worked nicely and I got the Gengar I needed for the Creep Show on the first Zygarde. Then I noticed the second Zygarde had 3 damage counter on it.

I just so happened to have a VS seeker on me and a Lysandre I discared for that Sycamore so that worked really nicely. At this point I had Lugia and Trevenant Break all set up and ready to go too. The second knockout of his Zygarde gave my opponent all sorts of problems so I made a switch to get Trevenant to hit Silent Fear to get his active and three of his benched up to 30 damage but before I could get Gengar back to work, my opponent forfeited the match. Oh wow I actually beat one of the best decks in that tournament and as it turns out, I played spoiler to my opponent, he ended up 3rd and not 1st because of that loss. Sorry about that man! 2-2

So that was really fun, my Gengar deck did way better than I expected it to. It was nice to know that apparently my deck ended up being one of the decks people didn’t want to play against because of Gengar’s Creep Show move. Of the 12 or so guys there, apparently only 3 of us played a deck completely different to the rest, me being one of them.

I knew if I wanted to stand a chance, I had to try something different so why not give my Gengar deck a try just to see if it was good or not. I do like playing a slower paced game and I do like playing those sniping decks. Plus, Gengar is one of my favourite pokemons so I was always going to make a deck around it.

I should really go for more of these pokemon tournaments, this one was really fun. I didn’t win any prizes but it’s all good, I had a good time anyway. It’s good to be around the pokemon community again although I didn’t have anything to trade with this time. But I did buy two Zoroark cards for my next deck, an Yveltal/Zoroark deck. If I had more strong trainer cards, maybe my deck could be even better. There is a league challenge going on next week, maybe I’ll give that a go.

Oh and after the event I went the Project EXT to get me 10 Sun and Moon booster packs ($45 for 10, I might as well) and since I have to start revision I won’t have time to buy cards anytime soon. Turned out to be the worst 10 boosters I ever bought. No holo foil, no GXes, nothing. I have now found out that I got cheated by this new thing of them defaulting the booster boxes, after every two bad pack will be a good pack. Whoever came up with this idea is a stupid idiot, now people can easily cheat others of buying packs. Packs should always be a random chance, that’s the fun of it. Not calculated chance. Here’s my proof of it. I’m never buying Sun and Moon loose packs ever again. 😦

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

