PTCG Burning Shadows Pre-Release: Double the fun!

It’s that time again, pre-release for the next pokemon set is here. This one was a little different as first of all, those of us here in Singapore had to wait 2 weeks longer than the rest of the world to have our pre-release events which sucks (and also means it was more a “post”-release since the set was already released the day before). The other reason? Well I’m going for two pre-release events for the first time so that should be double the fun. As it turned out, it sure was.

 

Pre-release time!

And I notice I never did do a post about the previous pre-release for Guardians Rising but that was a fun one too. I was in the middle of my exam period so I didn’t really have much time for Pokemon cards at that time. I did have fun playing the Vanilliuxe and Honchkrow deck, I think I won 2 out of my 3 matches with it and I got a Mallow full art in my kit.

 

The first pre-release was at Metagame, my second time there for a pre-release and the main place for the top players in Singapore to go to. The main promo card I was hoping to get was Seviper just because it’s a snake and I like snakes so I have to stick with my snakes. And for the 4th pre-release tourney in a row, I got who I wanted! Seviper! Woohoo! Better still, in my pre-release kit, I pulled a rainbow rare Noivern GX! One of the GX I wanted, great start to this pre-release already.

My Psychic-Dark deck

The focus of my deck was not the Noivern GX or the Toxicroak but instead little ol’ Meowstic. It’s second move looked too fun to pass up the chance of trying it out since it was a pre-release and you’re bound to have a lot of cards in your hand. 
Meowstic’s second move does 10 damage times the number of cards in your hand and that helped me out a number of times in the first pre-release. Toxicroak was there to provide backup with Seviper to help it out and of course Alolan Raticate because I did pull one tool card to make it’s free attack go from 10 to 60 damage. And well I had to put Noivern GX in since I was playing psychic and dark types and that’s what Noivern uses. Fun fact, a Noivern deck was the first deck I used when I got back into playing pokemon card. Yup, I’m loyal to it.

My first opponent is probably the person I played against the most since I got back into the game. It’s like we’re always bound to meet each other, be it our friendly weekly tourneys or pre-release events. She had a Toxicroak/Vileplume deck, so even though we both pulled the Seviper promo, we had different 2nd typings. I had the dark ones, she got the grass ones. I had the perfect hand to start the game off, Croagunk and Toxicroak so all I needed to do was set them up and the rest was set. Even her Wobbuffet had no answer to my Toxicroak. Luckily for me, she never got her Toxicroak so I ended up getting the win in about 5 minutes. After round one, score is 1-0.
And of course as fate would have it, my next opponent was also a good friend of mine. First I played against the girlfriend, now I’m up against her boyfriend haha. My boss had a much different deck, Crabbominable and Marshadow GX. And of course, he started with his GX car and who did I get? Two Ratattas and one Espurr. Of course I had to get a dark type when I’m playing the psychic type. I never stood a chance in this match. In about 5 minutes or so he won. After round two, score is 1-1.

Seviper promo and Noivern GX rainbow rare

And for the final round, it was a unfamiliar face, never met this opponent before but he had the same deck my friend had in the first round, Toxicroak/Vileplume. This was a trickier match as I did not get who I wanted initially. Finally after a while I got the Meowstic I needed. My Crogunk was posioned and I used my first Acerola to pull it back before getting knocked out. 
That worked really nicely as my hand size went up to six, which meant it knocked out my opponent’s Meowth. Meowstic paralyzed by a second Meowth when my second Acerola showed up to save me, taking out Mewostic and in came Alolan Raticate, with a Weakness Policy attached to make it’s free attack higher, to knock out Meowth for the win.

End of the tourney and I had a 2-1 score, and I finished 5th out of 21 people. Woohoo, my first top 5 finish. And better still, one of my prize packs ended up having a Gardevoir GX in it, and the full art version too. Of course everyone was asking me if I was selling it but nope. I’m keeping this one. It is after all the “Tapu Lele” of this new set.

Lots of Burning Shadows goodies there

And now for my second pre-release. Yes, I’m going to two of them for the first time, so double the fun I hope. I already had so much fun in the first one anyway. This one was at Qisahn where I usually go to for a friendly tourney every Friday night (because it’s closer to my place). This time I wanted either Crabominable or Zygarde as I already had my Seviper the day before and I don’t really want Bewear. And so the streak continues again, I got who I wanted, Crabominable.

My Fighting-Psychic deck

But looking at the cards I got along with what I pulled from my 4 packs, I wasn’t sure if I’d do well in this one. For starters, no GX in this deck because the one GX I pulled was Gardevoir (yes, again!) and I only had the one Ralts to work with so that was a no go. In the end I went for an almost full fighting type deck with Rhyperior and the promo Crabominable being my main two attackers. And lucky me I had two Meowstic to continue what I did yesterday and because Meowstic doesn’t really need psychic type, that suited the deck nicely. Also added in a Rimbombee line just in case I didn’t get my energies (which I did and in one match, a bit too much of it).
The good thing about this one was that there were 4 rounds so more fun for us to play with our pre-release decks. All 4 of my opponents were new to me, all friendly so that’s good. The first one was a kid, yup all different ages here. He had a Toxicroak/Meowstic deck which is what I used yesterday so I knew what was coming. Luckily for me things worked my way, my opponent struggled to get energy in within 4 turns, I got my 4 energies on Rhyperior and knocked 4 of his pokemon out with it’s 170 damage move in the next 4 turns. End of round 1, score is 1-0.
Second match was a mirror match, my opponent was also using the Rhyperior/Crabominable deck but this one was a bit one-sided. I drew Crabrawler and Crabominable in my starting hand so if everything went well I had this in the bad. Less than 100 seconds later I had already won the match. Crabominable knocked his 2 basics (Crabrawler and Rhyhorn) in consecutive turns. Possibly my fastest match ever. Crabominable’s first move needs just the one fighting energy but does 80 damage. Way too dangerous. End of round 2, score is 2-0.

The Crabominable promo card

Third match was against a Zygarde/Alolan Raticate deck and well this one really didn’t go my way. I had too many energy cards in my starting hand and just Rhyhorn to defend myself. Worst still, he got his Alolan Raticate a Weakness Policy up straight away so no advantage for me. I had no chance with Zygarde also powered up since Raticate didn’t need energies after all. Another short match but this time I loss. We played a friendly game afterwards and of course that one I won. Just my luck haha. End of round 2, score is 2-1.
The final round and once again it was up against a Zygarde/Alolan Raticate deck but this one was much better for me. For starters my opponent had no Weakness Policy on Raticate. Problem was, I had no Rhydon or Crabominable to take advantage of it but Meowstic saved the day (for the second day running) with it’s second move and because my hand was big enough, I got some big damage of his Raticate and Hoothoot for the win. End of the final round, score is 3-1.

The four Burning Shadows pack art

So unlike yesterday, I got 5 packs this time. But the pulls weren’t as good as yesterday. Just two holos to show for, Raichu and of course, I got Rhyperior after doing so well with it today. Still I can’t complain, I got some good stuff from the 17 packs I opened up in the two days of pre-release events. And for the second day running, I was in the top 5, this time I was 4th out of 30 players so there’s an improvement, that’s my best result in a tourney so far. And I did it with no GXes in my deck in this one.

 

My pulls from both days of pre-release

Hopefully in the next pre-release, I can go one better and try to do one pre-release tourney undefeated. I gotta start with small aims before I try for big the actual competitive tournaments. Another awesome pre-release week done, my fourth series and it was probably the most fun one I’ve done so far. These pre-release are my favourite events, everyone has to make decks on the spot and it tests your deck building skills. And it sure is nice to play something different and not the usual standard stuff since it is for the fun of playing the game after all. And it’s nice to see that four different places were hosting pre-releases that week, that is awesome to see the community growing even bigger here. Can’t wait for the next pre-release for Crimson Invasion in October…without any delays this time I hope.

4 pre-release and 4 times I got the promo I wanted

Oh and after the pre-release, me and my friends (two of them I played against in the other pre-release) stayed back to play this new game of Monopoly Gamers. Really interesting game, I might want to get it but apparently it’s hard to get. Never thought I’d see Mario in Monopoly haha!

Monopoly Gamers

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About KashMann27

Sometimes quiet, sometimes talkative, you might not hear much from me, but if I feel the need to speak, you will hear about it. My opinions are that of my own…so it’s not always the right view then haha! Now 25 years young and still stuck in the little island country known as Singapore. Anything that is motoracing, wrestling or soccer related, and you can expect to hear from me about it. If not, then well anything goes! Well…almost anything.

Leave a Reply

